Tag Archives lil wayne

Lil Wayne: ‘Tha Carter V’ Album Review


Lil Wayne’s long awaited 12th studio album, Tha Carter V, has finally released. For Wayne, the road to this album release has been one filled with turmoil that has on multiple occasions caused concern for the artist. In the time since the last album release from Tha Carter series, Wayne has been in a highly publicized legal dispute with Cash Money Records’ co-founder Birdman that has only recently been settled, with Wayne winning the dispute. But at the same time, Wayne has battled with his health as he’s suffered multiple hospitalizations over the past few years. With each year and delay, Carter V has most likely undergone various revisions. The mix between new and old work is almost unnoticeable during the 90 minute run of this project.


The album starts off with a heartfelt message from Wayne’s mother, in which she fondly expresses the love and gratitude she has for Wayne, and seemingly like everyone else, she also notes her eagerness to hear Wayne’s new work.


There’s moments on Tha Carter V where Wayne has a somber yet reassured tone. On “Don’t Cry”, which features a melancholy contribution from the late XXXTENTACION, Wayne addresses some of the hardships he’s had to deal with including the long delay to the album saying, “Don’t call it a comeback/It was dark, now the sun back/Hit me hard but I punched back”. Wayne did have to struggle to take back his musical agency from his former label. Keeping with the dim, luminous theme, Nicki Minaj contributes her part on “Dark Side of the Moon”, where her and Wayne deliver an atmospheric message to the person they love. In what may be one of the most terrifying moments that could ever occur, an apocalypse, Wayne and Nicki would both maintain their feelings for their person in the hypothetical situation saying, “I’ll be waiting for you/On the dark side of the moon”.


Key points that set a standard for this project are the Travis Scott featured track “Let it Fly”, and the Swizz Beatz produced track “Uproar”, where there’s a blend between the new and classic Wayne, and sonically it flows well. In one of the standout tracks, “Mona Lisa”, Wayne and Kendrick Lamar put on a theatrical performance where an opportune Wayne drives a jealous Lamar mad, all while they both maintain a ruthless delivery.


On Tha Carter V, Lil Wayne opens up on an emotional path. Perhaps the album’s delay played a major part in this. Perhaps, Wayne has reached a point where he realizes where his legacy stands amongst listeners, and what drives him now is his freedom and his family. Wayne’s mom, Jacida Carter, who Wayne stated played an important part in the making of this project, along with his daughter, Reginae Carter, who is featured on the track “Famous”, may be where his passion lies now. Or perhaps it’s Wayne’s new comfort with being able to reveal more as he does on the closing track “Let it All Work Out”, where he raps “It’s mine, I didn’t die, but I was dying/God came to my side and we talked about it/ He sold me another life and he made me a prophet”. One thing’s for sure, on his 36th birthday, Lil Wayne was able to deliver us all a present like no other.


Read more Music Articles at Cliché Magazine.
Lil Wayne: ‘Tha Carter V’ Album Review. Featured Image Credit: Young Money/Republic/Universal


Drake Drops New Album and Music Video


Surprise, surprise, Drizzy fans! Drake drops new album and music video for Jungle for this Valentine’s Day weekend!
Friday the 13th doesn’t seem so bad after all. In the dead of night, Drake silently released his album titled If You’re Reading This It’s Too Late and screenshots of the iTunes listing spread like wild fire across Instagram and Twitter.
His approach to this album release is drastically different from his most recent album Nothing Was The Same, which was promoted for months in conjunction with his 2013 tour. This album promotion simply consisted of a single instagram post.

A photo posted by champagnepapi (@champagnepapi) on

The album follows the release of Drake’s new music video,  Jungle.

Fans anticipated the album being called Views From The 6 and have been anxiously waiting for a release date, but things change and the wait is over!
The album’s 17 tracks include:
1. Legend
2. Energy
3. 10 Bands
4. Know Yourself
5. No Tellin’
6. Madonna
7. 6 God
8. Star67
9. Preach (feat. PARTYNEXTDOOR)
10. Wednesday Night Interlude (feat. PARTYNEXTDOOR)
11. Used To (feat. Lil Wayne)
12. 6 Man
13. Now & Forever
14. Company (feat. Travi$ Scott)
15. You & The 6
16. Jungle
17. 6PM In New York
Even with Lil Wayne feuding with Birdman and Cash Money Records, Drake continues on with his album and gives the fans what they’re asking for. Now the only question is: how will they perceive the album?
Stay tuned.
Read more Music News on ClicheMag.com
Photos Courtesy of OVO and Instagram

Drunk in Love: Beyoncé/Jay-Z vs Christina Milian/Lil Wayne


Prepare yourself for the remix face-off! Drunk in Love: Beyoncé/Jay-Z vs Christina Milian/Lil Wayne!
Who did it better?
Remember when everyone was all night, drunk in love and “surfbording” on the beach with Queen Bey and Jay-Z? Well, who is ready for a part two?
Christina Milian and Lil’ Wayne that’s who! The pair collaborated and created their own rendition of the popular song Drunk in Love on his recently released mixtape Sorry 4 The Wait 2, which raises the question, which couple truly intoxicated you with their love?
Beyonce and Jay-Z brought us Drunk in Love on the beach:

Christina Milian and Lil’ Wayne haven’t brought us a video just yet, but they were sure to provide us with enough imagery that we could get the picture:

Although the alleged couple has not officially confirmed their relationship status they have been spotted together a lot in recent months and Milian gushed over how she loves making music with the rapper during her interview with DailyMail.
Milian took to Twitter promoting the release of Lil’ Wayne’s mixtape:

But whats the verdict on the Drunk in Love Remix? Some fans can’t take contain their excitement

and others…let’s just say they’re very loyal to Queen Bey

So who takes the crown?
Photo Courtesy of Billboard